exhibitions

 

- Realm of the Ancestors -

10 - 18 March 2018

TEFAF, Maastricht, Netherlands

Charles-Wesley Hourdé is delighted to annonce his participation to the upcoming TEFAF Maastricht, Showcase section. Gathered around the ancestors theme, he will exhibit an exceptional selection of African, Oceanic, and Pre-columbian artworks. 

 

The highlights of his show will be a group of three New-Ireland masterpieces (Oceania). These sculptures distinguish themselves by their artistic quality, their rarity, and their historical pedigree. Collected by German Captains at the beginning of the last century, these three artworks were acquired by the Bremen Museum between 1905 and 1911. 

This unique collection consists of two Malagan figures and one Uli. While the latter has been published by Krämer in 1925 in his key reference book about New-Ireland, one of the Malagan is visible in-situ on a photograph circa 1900. A catalogue accompanying the show will include a rich and illustrated study of these works by Michael Gunn Ph.D, former Canberra Museum curator and New Ireland specialist, and Jean-Philippe Beaulieu, CNRS researcher and Uli specialist.

 

Among the other artworks selected for Maastricht, will be exhibited an extraordinary Bembe female figure (Democratic Republic of Congo), an extremely rare asymmetric Dan mask (Ivory Coast), and a historic Teke mask collected before 1928 (DRC).

 
press release

@2020 charles-wesley hourdé | ancient arts of Africa, Oceania and America | buying, selling, expertise, brokerage, advice, research

31 rue de seine, 75006, Paris, France

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

expositions

- Realm of the Ancestors -

10 - 18 mars 2018

TEFAF, Maastricht, Pays-Bas

 

Charles-Wesley Hourdé est heureux de vous annoncer sa participation à la prochaine édition de TEFAF à Maastricht, section Showcase. Il réunira pour l’occasion une sélection d’objets africains, océaniens et précolombiens de qualité exceptionnelle autour du thème des ancêtres.

 

Constituant les pièces phares de son accrochage, il présentera un ensemble de trois chefs-d’oeuvre de Nouvelle-Irlande (Océanie). Ces sculptures se distinguent tant par leur qualité plastique et leur rareté, que par leur pédigrée historique. Collectés par des capitaines allemands au début du siècle dernier, ces trois sculptures furent acquises par le musée de Brême entre 1905 et 1911. 

Cette collection unique est composée de deux figures Malagan aux bras écartés et d’une figure Uli. Ce dernier a été publié par Krämer en 1925 dans son livre de référence sur la Nouvelle-Irlande. Notons également que l’un des deux Malagan est visible sur une photographie in-situ, vers 1900. Un catalogue accompagnant cette exposition comprendra une étude approfondie de ces trois oeuvres signée par Michael Gunn Ph.D, ancien conservateur du musée de Canberra et spécialiste de la Nouvelle-Irlande notamment des Malagan, et de Jean-Philippe Beaulieu, chercheur au CNRS et spécialiste des Uli.

 

Figureront également à Maastricht une extraordinaire statuette féminine Bembé (République Démocratique du Congo), un rarissime masque Dan asymétrique (Côte d’Ivoire), et un masque Téké historique collecté avant 1928 (RDC).

 
communiqué de presse

@2020 charles-wesley hourdé | arts d'afrique, d'océanie et d'amérique | achat, vente, expertise, courtage, conseil, recherches

31 rue de seine, 75006, Paris, France

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube