- buying -

Charles-Wesley Hourdé is always looking to acquire new authentic artworks. No matter if they come from Africa, Oceania, America, even if they are books, photographs or documents, feel free to contact him. 

- selling - 

To discover available artworks, please visit our showroom on 31 rue de Seine, Paris or directly contact Charles-Wesley Hourdé and let him know what you are looking for.

 

- expertise -

Charles-Wesley Hourdé offers to help you identify your artworks. His experience and his personal specialized library will allow you to learn more about their origin, their symbolic and their use. A more complete service, tracing the complete historic background is offered below under the “research” category.

- valuing -

Estimating an artworks can be necessary for various purposes: estates, acquisitions, informative valuation, sale valuation, insurance valuation, or simple curiosity. 

Strengthen by his experience in both public auctions and private sales, Charles-Wesley Hourdé offers his valuation services. Free of charge for an opinion from a picture or by quote for a valuation requiring travel and research, he will provide you with all his skills. 

- advising -

Charles-Wesley Hourdé can provide you with his personal advising service. Whether you are an individual, a company, a professional (designer, architect, etc.) or an institution, collecting African and Oceanic artifacts is an art that cannot be improvised. Our advises cover the following situations:

 

  • Negotiating and acquiring an artwork from a professional or an individual

  • Acquiring an artwork from an auction house

  • Building and managing your collection depending on your profile

  • Selling your artworks in the best conditions (private sale or public auction)

  • Placing your artworks within cultural events (forthcoming exhibition or publication for instance)

  • Networking with professionals (basemaker, restorer, etc.)

 

- searching -

Charles-Wesley Hourdé can provide you with complete and exhaustive dossiers about your artworks. From their geographical and cultural contexts to their historic pedigrees (provenances, exhibitions, publications, etc.), your artworks will have no more secrets for you. Please contact him for more information. 

Whether you are searching to acquire artworks following your passion or for investment reasons, the arts of Africa, Oceania and the Americas represent a domain full of opportunity.  

Rare are the collecting fields still allowing the acquisition of museum-quality masterpieces. Historic works with prestigious pedigree, unknown pieces and iconic sculptures still populate private collections.  Heddle pulleys, Dan or Senufo masks from Ivory Coast, Fang or Kota reliquary figures from Gabon, clubs and figures from Fiji, marine ivory ornaments from the Marquesas Islands, Kanak figures, or British Colombia masks, the range of possibilities is breathtaking.

 

As for investment, these sculptures can represent an attractive investment. But it is necessary to be able to differentiate and select them. The dichotomy reflected by public auctions on medium and long term is an excellent indicator. While the value of high quality objects continues to rise, the value of medium and low quality pieces is stable, or even decreases. This Manichean scheme may, however, be qualified by the existence of “fashions” or “trends”, that one can take advantage of. Unless having a deep knowledge of this market, it is highly recommended to have recourse to professional advices, especially because many well-carved copies circulate.

 

Counting on his experience and on his network of collectors, professionals and institutions that he has cultivated since more than 15 years, Charles-Wesley Hourdé is at your disposal in order to guide you for any punctual acquisition but also for the long-term management of your collection. Feel free to contact him in order to organize a first informal appointment. 

 

Concerned about privacy, we will only share pictures of available artworks on request.

@2020 charles-wesley hourdé | ancient arts of Africa, Oceania and America | buying, selling, expertise, brokerage, advice, research

31 rue de seine, 75006, Paris, France

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

- achat -

Charles-Wesley Hourdé est toujours à la recherche d'œuvres authentiques à acquérir. Qu'elles proviennent d'Afrique, d'Océanie, d'Amérique, qu'il s'agisse de livres ou de documents relatifs à ces continents, n'hésitez pas à le contacter

- vente -

Venez découvrir une sélection d'œuvres disponibles au 31 rue de Seine à Paris ou contactez Charles-Wesley Hourdé et faites-lui part de vos recherches d'objets. Il se fera un plaisir de les dénicher pour vous.

 

- expertise -

Charles-Wesley Hourdé propose de vous aider à identifier vos œuvres d’art. Son expérience et sa bibliothèque spécialisée vous permettront d’en savoir plus sur leurs origines, leurs fonctions ou leurs utilisations. Un service plus approfondi, permettant de réaliser un dossier complet, retraçant l’historique de vos objets est proposé (voir ci-dessous la rubrique "recherches").

- estimation -

Les cas de figures nécessitant une estimation sont nombreux : succession, acquisition, inventaire à titre informatif, pour vente, pour assurance, ou par simple curiosité.

 

Fort de son expérience dans le domaine des ventes aux enchères et de la vente de gré à gré, Charles-Wesley Hourdé vous propose son service d’expertise. A titre gracieux pour un avis sur photographie ou sur devis pour une estimation nécessitant déplacement et recherches, il mettra tout son savoir-faire à votre disposition.

- conseil -

Charles-Wesley Hourdé vous propose ses services de conseils personnalisés. Que vous soyez un particulier, une société, un professionnel (décorateur, architecte, etc.) ou une institution, collectionner les arts d’Afrique et d’Océanie est un art qui ne s’improvise pas. Nos conseils portent notamment sur les thèmes suivants:

 

  • Acquérir et négocier une œuvre auprès de professionnels ou de particuliers

  • Acquérir une œuvre auprès d’une maison de vente

  • Constituer et gérer votre collection en fonction de votre profil

  • Vendre vos œuvres dans les meilleures conditions (vente de gré à gré ou vente publique)

  • Inscrire vos œuvres au sein d’évènements culturels (expositions ou publications à venir par exemple)

  • Mise en relation avec un professionnel (socleur, restaurateur, photographe, etc.)

 

- recherches -

Charles-Wesley Hourdé vous propose de constituer un dossier complet et approfondi sur vos œuvres. Du contexte géographique et culturel à la recherche de pédigrée (provenances, expositions, publications, etc.), vos objets n’auront plus de secret pour vous. Contactez le pour de plus amples informations. 

Que l’on cherche à acquérir des œuvres par passion ou à des fins d’investissements, les arts d’Afrique, d’Océanie et d’Amérique représentent un domaine plein d’opportunités.

 

Rares sont les domaines de collections permettant encore d’acquérir des chefs-d’œuvre de dimension muséale. Œuvres historiques au pédigrée prestigieux, pièces inédites et chefs-d’œuvre incontournables peuplent encore certaines collections privées. Poulies de métier à tisser, masques Dan ou Sénoufo de Côte d'Ivoire, figures de reliquaire Fang et Kota du Gabon, massues et statuettes des îles Fidji, ornements en ivoire marin des îles Marquises, sculptures Kanak, ou masques de Colombie-Britannique, le champ des possibilités laisse rêveur.

 

Quant à l’investissement, ces sculptures peuvent représenter un placement intéressant. Encore faut-il savoir les différencier et les choisir. La dichotomie reflétée par les résultats de vente publique sur le long et moyen termes est un bon indicateur. Tandis que la valeur des objets de qualité ne cesse de monter, celle des objets de catégorie moyenne et basse est stable, voire baisse. Ce schéma manichéen peut toutefois être nuancé par l’existence de « modes » ou « tendances » dont il faut savoir tirer profit. À moins de bénéficier d’une connaissance approfondie du sujet, il est recommandé d’avoir recours aux  conseils d’un professionnel, d’autant plus que de nombreuses copies de bonne facture circulent. 

 

Comptant sur son expérience et sur son réseau de collectionneurs, d’institutions et de professionnels cultivé depuis plus de 15 ans, Charles-Wesley Hourdé se tient à votre disposition afin de vous guider tant pour vos acquisitions ponctuelles que pour la gestion sur le long terme de votre collection. N’hésitez pas à le contacter afin de convenir d’un premier rendez-vous informel. 

@2020 charles-wesley hourdé | arts d'afrique, d'océanie et d'amérique | achat, vente, expertise, courtage, conseil, recherches

31 rue de seine, 75006, Paris, France

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube